More Things I Have Learned About Malaria and Typhoid

Bizarrely, even though the UK government website categorically states the need for a postal application to renew a British passport from Sierra Leone, the central Post Office in Freetown refused to let Sampson send mine from there saying the UK won’t accept them. To send via DHL costs more than $200, which was out of the question in this month of two-sets-of-visas-plus-a-new-gas-bottle-plus-breakdown-plus-more-expensive-food-than-usual. So we went to the British High Commission to ask for advice.

We arrived on Wednesday 20th Jan too late for the consular office hours of 8.30-11.30am. Security officer Joseph Sesay kindly arranged clearance for us to stay overnight.

Sitting outside the British Embassy in Freetown, in some very British weather

Sitting outside the British High Commission in Freetown – in some bizarrely British weather.

Rain again in the middle of the dry season?

Rain again in the middle of the dry season?

My gentle Guinean friend from the corner shop, Mrs Jarie Bah, brought the sunshine back.

My gentle Guinean friend from the corner shop, Mrs Jarie Bah, brought the sunshine back.

The next day, ex-Durbanite Security Manager Geraint Jones told me sadly that officially assistance with transport of passports to UK was out of the question; Consular Officer Alfred Sivalie did his best to help through unofficial channels.

Alfred, Joseph Sesay

Alfred Sivalie, Ian Wurie and (r) Joseph Sesay, British HC security guard, 2nd Dan karate black belt and National Kickboxing Coach. He’s the same age as me!

A lovely Irishman in the car park suggested I appeal to a local Yahoo group, Freetown Announce, to find someone flying to UK who could take my passport over, but before I could set up an account, I became unwell again. More terrible diarrhoea in the night made me realise these symptoms were not going away, so on Friday we contacted Manu who told us there were no further Ebola cases and we should come in that afternoon.

Just time to stock up at Lumley Road market

Just time to stock up at Lumley Road market and St Mary’s Supermarket where it was…

Very galling to be paying 7500Le or when you get 3 for a £1 in UK - especially when they turn out to be undercooked

very galling to be paying 7500Le or £1.50 when you get 3 for a £1 in UK – especially when they turn out to be a dodgy job lot, undercooked

At the Emergency Hospital, built by the Italian government and staffed by a majority of Italian medical staff, Manu introduced us to the tall, dark and scrawny Dr Paulo. He’d spent the morning attending to more than 100 pediatric patients and was about to embark on his afternoon clinic monitoring underweight children. “I am good for this because I am malnourished myself” he quipped self-deprecatingly, pronouncing it “mal-norr-eesh-shed”. I immediately fell in love with him.

Dr Pier-Paulo Occorso of the Emergency Hospital

Dr Pier-Paulo Occorso of the Emergency Hospital

For two hours I sat with Zola’s head on my lap, fixing his dreadlocks, while we watched Dr Paulo attend to a dozen young worried mothers, as nurse Fabiana weighed each of their tiny babies in turn. He was so patient and unhurried, with a kind word and little jokes for every one of them. Ruby made me proud by jumping up to help the exhausted mother of twin toddlers who were miserable with malaria.

When the clinic was over, I described our dodgy stomachs, persistent weariness and confusion and my suspicion that we had typhoid again. He nodded sagely and told us that there is no sure way to avoid it. Even if we were vaccinated before we left. Even if the water we pumped up from the river was safe, even if our brand new filters can resist all known bacteria and even if Ms Obama had definitely washed her hands. Even if you never ever eat street food, enjoy a frozen yoghurt or snack on plantain chips. Because the organic local vegetables you buy have been watered from a source that may be compromised, and you can’t wash the typhoid bacteria out of them.

Dr Paulo said the clinical symptoms were so obviously present, he discounted malaria and immediately proscribed typhoid meds for Sampson and I. On Saturday morning, the kids’ Widal tests came back negative but their white blood cell counts were half what they should be so Dr Paulo was convinced typhoid was still the issue. But he said if we weren’t feeling better by Monday to come back in for more tests. We parked off down the side road next to the hospital, outside Josephine’s house, took our pills and lay down. I didn’t get out of the truck for 48 hours.

The ladder to the ground looked way too long.

The nearest I came to the sea all weekend...

The nearest I came to the sea all weekend…

The fact that we watched 7 episodes each of Rizzoli and Isles and Arrow in three days tells you the state I was in. Normally I’d have to be brain dead to watch such formulaic Barbie-filled dross. The kids had the best weekend ever!

On Sunday I had a bit of an epiphany when I realised I would rather be ill with typhoid in the truck than well back in my old life at home. That has a lot to do with the fact that I allow myself to be properly sick here. I don’t try and manfully carry on, dragging myself around trying to fulfill my responsibilities to other people; I listen to my body and lie down. I don’t have any responsibilities here, beyond those to my family, so I don’t have to. On this journey, I am glad my kids are learning how to be properly ill i.e. stop and rest. We even managed to have fun.

But we weren’t bouncing back as quickly as when we took typhoid drugs in 2014, so on Monday we queued several hours with the waiting mothers again for tests. No one was more surprised than Dr Paulo at the result: “Your husband is a strong man, no?”

It seems in the previous week, Sampson had been battling amoebic dysentery, typhoid and malaria all at the same time – one more than me in Côte d’Ivoire. When I reported back, he triumphantly thrust a fist in the air: “YESSSSSSSSS – I get the hat trick!” Trust Sampson to treat wrestling germs as a competitive sport.

Thanks a million to Manu, Dr Paulo and everyone at the Emergency Hospital, and especially to the Italian government for providing an enormous amount of expensive medication to us and the mothers of Freetown for FREE. As Liberty Health declined to renew our health cover (their sponsorship emphasis has shifted to education), we are immensely grateful.

Grazie mille Manu! We hope to see you again on the road in your truck :)

Grazie mille Manu! We hope to see you again on the road in your own truck 🙂

More Things I Have Learned From Malaria and Typhoid:

  • that my husband is braver than he looks
  • that I’d rather be ill in the Big Green Truck than well at home
  • that typhoid tests are no more reliable than malaria tests and you have to trust your motherly instincts and watch their eyes
  • that typhoid-induced confusion, like PMT-induced irritation, by its nature precludes recognition of itself, even though it’s blindingly obvious to everyone else
  • that for me, the meds are heavier going than the illness
  • that my ME relapse in UK midwinter this time last year was way worse
  • that for Sampson, malaria plus typhoid is a phenomenal weight loss plan

A few days later, when I was able to stand up to do T’ai Chi again, I reflected that I also don’t have the constant pumping adrenalin that wears me down in Cape Town. From the moment I wake up, I am anxiously reviewing a list of tasks to accomplish which is never achievable in one day, so I feel constantly on the back foot. It’s ridiculous, but I’m not the only one. People like me are reading this going “Ah, yes” and nodding too fast; everyone else, like my husband, is looking at me like I’m the saddest thing in the universe, which in some ways I am. Fancy having to set off on a mammoth trek around Africa just to grant yourself some peace in your own mind…

Thanks so much to Josephine Kamara, pictured here with her daughter Khadijatu, for letting us park off outside her house

Thanks so much to Josephine Kamara, pictured here with her daughter Khadijatu, for letting us park off outside her house and shop

On Tuesday morning, I was finally strong enough to walk down the road towards the sea that had been twinkling at me all weekend. I was surprised at how large the mansions were that I was passing, and took note of the shards of glass lining the outer walls. The bottom of the road suddenly opened into a ghettoland of shacks, hanging precariously over the cliffs that had been quarried out by the sand-miners in the lorries that relentlessly rumbled up and down.

A posse of about 20 young men were hanging out, the shininess of their T shirts, caps and bling contrasting sharply with the dinginess of their surroundings. Strong tea was brewing and strong smoke hung heavy in the air. I was regretting bringing my camera bag but took a split second decision to go balls-to-the-wall rather than back out and went forward with a hearty greeting of ‘As-Salaam Walaikum’. Thanks to Sampson’s Saudi experience, when the Arabic rejoinder came back I automatically retorted “Alhamdulillah!” It was a good start. Rasta Hassan, who’d chatted with me on his way past the truck yesterday, claimed me as his friend.

Having won over the youngsters I moved on to the end where an older, gnarlier set were gathered on a bench drinking sachets of spirits and looking suspicious. Ms Obama had shown me a sample of what she sells – at only 1000Le for a shot, it’s a cheap breakfast. I felt there was no option but to go full monty.

Obama, the poster girl for whisky shots at R2 a sachet

Obama, the poster girl for whisky shots at R2 a sachet

I greeted confidently and, asking for a flat space to do my exercise, launched into a very martial-looking short form of T’ai Chi. Their reaction was fabulous: incredulity melting to amazement. Another Hassan, on his way to work with a shovel over his shoulder, stopped to reciprocate with a full karate kata; I was deeply impressed and made him an ‘I am not worthy’ obeisance. Everyone was delighted. Rasta Hassan patted my arm, “I love my Mommy, I be her soldier to South Africa”.

This entry was posted in 13 Sierra Leone and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Things I Have Learned About Malaria and Typhoid

  1. Deon Bing says:

    Beautifully written! Glad you’re all strong and writing again. Perspective of what we get ourselves uptight about…flow like water ek se!

  2. goetz says:

    i love following your journey! lots of love from all of us Octopussys

  3. Julie Wright says:

    Yes..well done you guys…but stay strong and so looking forward to seeing you in Spain soon…….so glad to be reading your posts again.

  4. John says:

    Phew!!! malaria/typhoid etc. and you are happier in the truck than Cape Town!. As someone with the slightest of snivels at the moment and resent having to blow my nose half a dozen times a day, thinking why can’t I shake off the snivels, I can only wonder at your stoicism and mind set. Hope health issues continue to improve love to all.
    Johnx

Leave a Reply

